365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


1 Comment

#365AOTD 95 “Whatever and Ever Amen” Ben Folds Five 1997

Whatever and Ever Amen

I have not formally written my top 100 favorite albums and top 100 favorite songs yet; you know, there is always a running list in my head and such. “Whatever and Ever Amen” is definitely a top 100 record for me. Track two, Fair is probably a top 20 song of mine. That being said, you know now that I am a true fan of this one.

The appeal of Ben Folds Five in five points:

1. No guitar! Don’t get me wrong, I love the guitar like the next gal or guy, but it is beyond refreshing to hear music that enters the popular landscape without a rhythm or lead guitar.
2. Ben Folds Five is a trio not a quintet as the name would suggest. Ben Folds plays piano, Robert Sledge plays bass and Darren Jessee plays the drums. Nice name.
3. Speaking of the bands name, they have a sense of humor that is reminiscent of Becker and Fagan of Steely Dan. Their humor is dry, quirky and intelligent. Score.
4. Their writing is clever and interesting. The music is jazzy, edgy, indie, alt-pop and highly accessible. And a special emphasis on the vocal harmonies they use. That’s the icing on the cake for me. The vocals in the non-lyrical chorus are what make the song Fair for me such an all time fav. Who does non-lyrical choruses anyway? Awww, there’s that twisted sense of humor. Yet the subject matter of the song is serious. This combo works brilliantly.
5. I don’t really have a five.

“Whatever and Ever Amen” is all that and a bag of chips. I don’t see one flaw on this album. Even the hit song Brick, which is not my preferred cup of tea(peppermint or English breakfast), is a worthy acknowledgement. Sidebar, I tend to not like an artist or group’s biggest hits. There is an exception to every rule, but that is my general theme. Highlights for me are: Selfless, Cold and Composed, One Angry Dwarf And 200 Solemn Faces, Steven’s Last Night in Town, Kate and Song for the Dumped. I would and could write more, but I am rushed for a dinner date.

Ill close with this. I saw Ben solo a couple of years back. Of course it was a great show. But the surprise for me was it was the best singing audience I had ever been in. What a tribute to a man who has been a consistent artist and musician for the past 20 years. Check out the other fantastic BF5 albums and Ben’s solo efforts, it is worth more than a few listens.