365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 101 “Saudade” Thievery Corporation 2014

saudade

Tom Moon’s article, “First Listen: Thievery Corporation, ‘Saudade,'” summarizes this latest release from Thievery Corp. so well, I decided to just refer to his words instead of coming up with something on my own. That being said, I shall contribute a couple of things about today’s AOTD.

First, I remember hearing that TC had a new record coming out this year, so I was siked to see that it was just released less than two weeks ago. Since technically I am a Washingtonian, I have a little extra fondness for Eric Hilton and Rob Garza, the two guys behind Thievery Corporation. I encourage anyway visiting the District to visit the Eighteenth Street Lounge; one of my favorite bar/clubs in the city. Yes it may seem to hip for some and pricey for the cover charge or a cosmopolitan at the bar. Get over it. It is too hip and too cool. The ambience and the variety of music that is featured there is worth the money. For full disclosure, I haven’t been there in years. That being said, my opinion of this DC hidden gem is still quite high. And hidden is the appropriate description. Good luck finding it.

“Saudade” features a variety of guest musicians including a few dynamite female singers that lend their voices to this stellar LP. This was another ideal pick for me today. It is probably the warmest spring day we have had. Temps are up and the sun is bright. Yet, my disposition is that of a rainy, stay in kind of day. There is actually 30% of showers in the afternoon forecast. So I have been relishing in the subdued, down tempo offerings of “Saudade.” The flavor is Brazilian through and through. And I would say TC got it exactly right. For me, this will quickly become a repeated, go to record.