365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 103 “Alive”* Chick Corea Akoustic Band” 1991

20140413-071333.jpg

An all night card session saw me searching for something to get me through. At about 4am, “Alive” entered my ear buds. Pure delight. Chick is so talented. This live record with his Akcoustic Band is why I love jazz.

This trio brings a certain vitality to the selections; a little extra something something. There is actually nothing bad to say about this record. The band is beyond tight. Chick is, in my opinion, one of the best jazz pianists; his playing is top dog and cat. This music was so on point today, I listened to the album twice, and the last track on repeat. When musicians gel together and are able to play like these guys did, it’s magic. Great stuff in the wee hours, great stuff.

* Chick Corea, piano
John Patitucci, bass
Dave Weckl, drums