365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 110 “Irving Berlin’s Easter Parade” (OST) Various Artists 1948

Easter Parade

Shake off your cares and troubles.

They don’t make ’em like Irving Berlin anymore; nor Fred Astaire and Judy Garland, for that matter. A mere three years after World War II, “Easter Parade,” among other things, entertained its audience with gay and happy tunes. Steppin’ Out with my Baby, A Fella with an Umbrella and Easter Parade all fit the light and happy bill. If I had ever seen this film, it would have been when I was quite young. I don’t recall it. I do remember singing Easter Parade in the elementary school choir. “On the Avenue…” I must say that we are “White Christmas” people through and through. That is our Irving Berlin movie preference. Regardless, he is an American Icon whose impact on our popular culture can still be enjoyed today.

Now, has anyone seen my bonnet?