365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 115 “The 1975” The 1975 2013

The 1975

About a week ago I was flipping through the channels when I stumbled upon AXS TV’s Coachella Festival coverage. The group that I caught performing was The 1975. Only seeing a few songs, I liked what I was hearing so I decided to seek them out. The next thing you know I am listening to their 2013 debut release as the album of the day. I also happen to find out that they are playing two area shows. The one in May is at the 9:30 Club and the other is in B’More in June. Both dates are SOLD OUT. Now that should tell you something right there. I would have liked to have perhaps seen these guys. I still may.

Their sound reminds me of modern day jangle pop. It’s got that joyful fuzziness to it along with hard to understand lyrics. But lead singer Matt Healy’s voice and singing is too enjoyable to actually worry about what he is saying. Ha. When I explored the lyrics of a band in their late 20’s, it reminded me of teen angst and young love drama. Of course if 40 is the new 30, then by my math, that seems about right. The band brings their indie, touch of synth, ethereal style to this afternoon tea party. It’s quite pleasurable. My favs were Girls, Talk!, The Robbers and extra props to Chocolate. This British quartet has been together since 2002. I’m glad they finally got their stuff out there for us to groove on. I look forward to the promise of more to come. I will most definitely stay tuned.