365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 119 “Speak of the Devil” Chris Isaak 1998

Speak of the Devil

Reminiscent of the likes of Bing Crosby, Dean Martin, Frankie Lane and Mel Tormé, I call Chris Isaak a late 20th/early 21st century crooner. With his dreamy baritone voice, Isaak could sing almost anything to you and you would be happy. He chooses a hybrid of rockabilly, surf rock and a touch of western swing to accompany his near perfect pipes. On “Speak of the Devil,” the theme is love and all its many moons; break-up, new lust, coupling, heartache, forgive me, more break-up and settling down. I don’t recommend this record if you have just come through a parting of ways with someone, but for a cool, late April, rainy day, it will do just fine. My favs are Walk Slow, I Like the Way She Moves Me, Flying, I’m Not Sleepy, Please , This Time and Talkin’ About a Home.