365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 120 “Ramones” Ramones 1976

Ramones

Hey. Ho. Let’s Go!

Sometimes first names are all that are needed: Dee Dee, Johnny, Tommy and Joey; the one and only Ramones. I chose this ground-breaking album not because I am a big Ramones fan but instead on its importance in music. I am always amazed when an album or the artists behind them change the course of history. With short bursts of raw sound, fast, manic tempos and its simple chords, this debut LP helped shape an entire musical genre. Punk Rock is synonymous with the Ramones. Having played at the famed CBGB club in New York City for a couple of years, “Ramones” hit the airwaves. Not even thirty minutes long, it is considered one of the quintessential records in Rock. When I listen to it all these years later, it reminds me of the early 1950’s rock and roll on speed. And there you have it. What else can I say, except it influenced everybody. And that is everybody, people. My preferred punk rockers are The Clash. No doubt that this record was ingested into Strummer, Jones and company’s consciousness. Still leaving its mark, “Ramones” hits on all cylinders and just keeps on going and going.