365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.

#365AOTD 288 “uh-oh” David Byrne 1992

Leave a comment

Uh-Oh

I am not one who gets all star struck and such regarding the famous or celebrities, nor do I like the term musical hero. And who needs autographs, really. That’s for “other people. “That being said the highlight of my disc jockey tenure was meeting, yes I’ll admit it, my musical hero, David Byrne. After a show of his, circa 2004, I got to briefly go backstage for a meet and greet. Now don’t think I got all weird and shit because I didn’t. I acted normal. I did inform him that my favorite song ever written, my desert island tune was his, in collaboration with his Talking Heads band mates, This Must Be The Place (Naïve Melody). That is THE song, if I only had one choice, that I would ever need. I asked him what his desert island song would be and without much thought and what I think was very much an in the moment answer he replied, “Strawberry Fields Forever.” “There’s a lot going on in it,” he added. He posed for a few pics and signed my “Remain in Light” CD cover and my “Speaking in Tongues” album inner sleeve near the lyrics of TMBTP(NM). “It’s a love song.” My impressions of him from just that short time with him was that he is an odd but very likable fellow. He is smarter than you can imagine; well read and versed, eclectic and eccentric, interesting, and one tall, cool cat. Okay, okay. I broke all of my own rules. Yes I got a couple of autographs and I do consider him a hero. Gimme a break, will ya? This is David Byrne after all.

I woke up with that I really don’t want to go to work feeling. So, because I can, I took a sick day. After a much needed sleeping in, I finally got up. As the day has progressed, the weather outside has gone from humid and balmy to a steady rain. Blah. I know what will brighten up this gray, mid-week Sundayesque feeling afternoon, David Byrne’s “uh-oh.”

Towards the end of Talking Heads, one could hear a different musical direction the band was taking. The groups last studio record together was the 1988 release “Naked.” With the hint of world music running through it, I am a big fan of this album. I know some Talking Heads enthusiasts are not too keen on this one. But I encourage you to re-visit it. It really is a wonderful disc, that in the arc of the Heads career, stands alone in its own category of sorts. Byrne picked up the worldbeat offerings from “Naked” and took a full leap into the genre with his 1989 “Rei Momo.” Filled with actual Latin, Afro-Cuban and Brazilian music, Byrne fully immersed himself into a sharp contrast from his former band. His next project continues where “Rei Momo leaves off and sounds a bit more akin to “Naked.” “uh-oh” is a vivid, colorful, pallet of musical oranges, pinks, red and yellow hues, and that’s just the visual property of the album. The undercurrent is Byrne’s satirical, dry wit and his biting commentary on the world:

“Well, god can turn the world around
And he can push it in the dirt
And he can tear it all apart
And he don’t care who’all gets hurt” ^

“I’m mild as a bunny
I’m meek as a lamb
You lead me to slaughter
I’m mud in your hands” ^^

“Jesus, Mary and the Holy Ghost
Took one look and said, ‘Hey, we’re lost!’
‘How the hell do we get outa here?’
They shit their pants, they got so scared” ^^

(Pretending to shake my head), Oh David.

I enjoy all of Byrne’s solo works for varying reasons, but I think “uh-oh” may be the one that I overall enjoy the most. A solid record from start to
finish, I’ll give my props to: Tiny Town, Something Ain’t Right, Girls on my Mind, Monkey Man, The Cowboy Mambo (Hey Lookit Me Now), A Million Miles Away, Twistin’ in the Wind and the album closer, Somebody; I had forgotten what an amazing track this is. Another shout-out goes to the numerous instruments that can be heard on “uh-oh,” to name a few: cowbell, bass clarinet, vibes, alto, tenor & baritone saxophone, bongos, trumpet, trombone, including a tenor trombone, agogô, blocks, surdo, tamborim, bass guitar, guitar, flugelhorn,  drums, clavinet, strings, triangle, French horn, voice, congas, maracas, timbales, synthesizer, oboe and whistle.^^^  Now, who doesn’t love a good whistle player?

One of the marvelous things about David Byrne’s career is that even though  all of his work differs in theme and musical exploration, the consistent, common thread is him looking through his unique and very much his own quirky lens. Thankfully, he shares this view with the rest of us.

The rain is coming down harder now but the lingering sounds of “uh-oh” have brought some David Byrne sarcasm and sunshine into my apartment. Life is good.

^words and music by David Byrne and Terry Allen

^^ words and music by David Byrne

^^^http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uh-Oh_(David_Byrne_album)

Leave a comment