365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 309 “Tiddly Winks” NRBQ 1980

Tiddlywinks

Squidger: the disc used to shoot a wink.

Back in ’04 when NRBQ put out their “Dummy” record with the Joey and Johnny Spampinato, Tom Ardolino and Terry Adams line-up, I had the chance to, minus Adams, interview the band. What a great group of guys. Besides getting to hang out with them a bit, which was a ton of fun, I got to catch a couple of their shows. Seeing them live, I learned what their legions of fans had known for decades, NRBQ is the best band you’ve never heard of. They’re like a really good bar band but even better. Their live shows consist of no pre-planned set list, spontaneity, humorous antics and kick ass playing of bluesy, jazzy, rock and roll! And when I say kick ass, I mean NRBQ cooks with gas. These guys were pretty amazing. Shortly thereafter the band went on a long hiatus.

With long time NRBQ guitarist Al Anderson in the fray, the 1980’s “Tiddly Winks” is a 33 minute, heavy on the roots, light on their toes, tasty pop tart. In typical NRBQ fashion, the 11 tracks are at times whimsical, bouncy and jolly while at other times the songs are Beatlesque with a twist of lime. All of the numbers are right on point. My personal favs are the minor hit, Me and the Boys (think Bonnie Raitt), That I Get Back Home, Feel You Around Me, Hobbies, You Can’t Hide and Tommy Dorsey’s Music Goes Round and Round.

Yesterday for the first time I was an Election Judge. Let me tell you, it was a long day. For a tired Wednesday, the short and yet very sweet “Tiddly Winks” was just what I needed.