365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 324 “Very Necessary” Salt -N-Pepa 1993

20141120-152026-55226122.jpg

Hey, Yo show ‘em what you got
Cuz, shit is getting’ hot
Show em what ya got

Somebody’s gettin’ on my nerves

There is something sexy about women who bring confidence and a certain prowess to the rap table. Enter Cheryl James, Sandra Denton and Deidra Roper. Known as Salt-N-Pepa, this trio took to the airwaves in the late ‘80s and early ‘90s with hip-hop dance hooks and rap texts. Don’t forget about these gals in your hip-hop conversations, they brought the goods and were the real deal.

Their fourth studio effort, “Very Necessary,” became the most successful rap album by a female act. ^ I had heard a couple of the hits from the record, but a good friend turned me on to it about ten years after it was released. Now more than 20 years after it dropped, it still demonstrates how Salt, Pepa and Spinderella were the shit. With the help of producer and song writer, Herby “Luvbug” Azor, “Very Necessary” offers infectious beats, inviting grooves, thoughtful lyrics and a in your face girl power that proves that women and rap do in fact mix. Remember these singles, Shoop, Whatta Man (with En Vogue, another female force to be reckoned with) and None of Your Business? The other tracks are just as strong as the hits. Props to Heaven or Hell, Break of Dawn, No One Does it Better, Somma Time Man, Big Shot and to two of my favs, Step and Somebody is Getting’ on my Nerves. Oh hell yeah.

No matter the genre of music, anytime we hear strong women using their creative voice it makes me happy and Salt-N-Pepa brought strength in spades. I listened to this LP on my morning commute today. As I was weaving in and out of the annoying, rush hour Beltway traffic, I was car dancing to these ladies. Even if I looked a fool boppin’, hoppin’ and raising my right arm in my Kia Forte, I didn’t care. I get down to this record. That’s right. What are you gonna say about it?

^http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Very_Necessary