365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 338 “Bitches Brew” Miles Davis 1970

Bitches Brew

(#365AOTD celebrates a week of the letter M)

Today saw me putting up the Christmas tree. I continued last year‘s theme of an all-white tree with green lights and green ornaments. It was really cool last December, today I am not so sure. I may have a few spaces that my Christmas Décor consultant may not approve of. As creative as I am, I am not the most crafty or good at these kinds of things. Naturally while I was unpacking the artificial spruce, sorting the lights and hanging the ornaments, I needed some tunes to accompany my tree trimming. Not quite ready for X-Mas music yet, I went with something a little more avant-garde.

Everyone knows that Miles Davis’ 1959 release, “Kind of Blue,” is widely considered not only the best Jazz record ever cut, but has led music writers to acknowledge it as one of the most influential albums ever made.” ^ I concur; it’s definitely my favorite Miles LP. But instead of going for the obvious with my Davis AOTD selection, I went with another highly regarded Davis offering, “Bitches Brew.” Alright, I must come clean, today’s listen was the first time I had heard this jazz fondue pot of bubbling fusion jam sessions. Released during the month of my birth, I had always wanted to check it out, and why not do it while preparing for the holiday season.

It’s easy to get lost in the lengthy songs on “Brew” while doing other activities; I drifted in an out a few times. When I did come back into focus out of the fog of my sandalwood incense smoke, or something stronger, I was in a psychedelic day dream. One thing that was evident through all of the haze was Miles’ distinct trumpet sound. Surrounded by a top notch cast of musicians, his playing seemed to rise above the improvisational jams but also blend perfectino with the groove of the songs. Everybody on here is marvelous; Wayne Shorter, Chick Corea, John McLaughlin, Larry Young, etc. (click here for the “Bitches Brew” personnel). While all of the tunes are compelling, the one track that stood out to me was Spanish Key. It’s good to the last drop.

One of the all time greats in any realm of music, Davis pushed the boundaries of jazz and formed a hybrid free jazz rock thing with “Bitches Brew.” I am glad I finally came to the caldron. It’s contents were worth the wait.

 

 

 

^http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kind_of_Blue