365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 340 “Glenn Miller” * Glenn Miller 1945

Glenn Miller

(#365AOTD celebrates a week of the letter M)

We continue our M week with an oldie but a goodie; the self titled Glenn Miller from back in the way, way day. As soon as the opening notes of American Patrol began, I felt as if I had just stepped back into time to a bygone era. I have always been drawn to big band and swing music. It has reached me since ever I can remember.

One of the most famous bandleaders of this period was Glen Miller. Along with his orchestra, “Glenn Miller” was probably one of the earliest LP compilation albums to be released. Consisting of 8 of his most notable songs, this collection is the perfect size and shape of Miller tunes. Stand-outs include these Glenn Miller staples, Little Brown Jug, Pennsylvania 6-5000, Moonlight Serenade, Tuxedo Junction and In the Mood. For the hell of it, I also included his A String of Pearls to my listening enjoyment today.  And believe you me, I needed something uplifting and light, can you say Saturday cleaning? I’m hosting my 2nd annual Christmas Costume Potluck Party, costume optional, next week and I have begun the preparations (dry run later in a few days). I am also putting the finishing touches on my holiday décor and festive accents around the crib. Hearing Glenn Miller and His Orchestra also made me think of my grandparents; Gertrude and Ray, Charlie and Annette. That welcomed reminder, the holiday season being upon us, and Glenn Miller’s marvelous music for any day and age put a smile upon my face.

*selected personnel for this album:
“The personnel for the April 4, 1939 “Moonlight Serenade” recording session in New York consisted of: Bob Price, Legh Knowles, Dale McMickle, tp; Glenn Miller, Al Mastren, Paul Tanner, tb; Wilbur Schwartz, cl, as; Hal McIntyre, as; Stanley Aronson, as, bs; Tex Beneke, ts; Al Klink, ts; Chummy MacGregor, p; Allen Reuss, g; Rolly Bundock, b; Maurice Purtill, d.”^

^http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glenn_Miller_(1945_album)