365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 343 “Z” My Morning Jacket 2005

 

Z

(#365AOTD celebrates a week of the letter M)

How appropriate to end the last day of the current AOTD celebratory week with a double M for My Morning Jacket. And to top it off, the band’s fourth studio record honors the often overlooked last letter of the English Alphabet, Z. An art rock, indie, psychedelic landscape, “Z” was a departure for the group; a non-band producer was used for the first time, two new members had joined MMJ and their sound featured a lot less reverb than in previous discs. ^ For me, it was a lovely ethereal, sometimes dreamy, backdrop on my much needed restful day. “Z” suited my mood perfectly.

My Morning Jacket is a band that I have had little experience with, but what meetings I have had make me want to seek out more of their catalogue and also see them live. With 2015 fast approaching, I can see them making my musical new year’s resolution list. More My Morning Jacket in my life sounds like a nice goal.

^http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z_(My_Morning_Jacket_album)