365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 349 “The Rhythm of the Saints” Paul Simon 1990

TROTS

And all of these spirit voices rule the night.

In my own personal list of top ten favorite albums of all time, Paul Simon’s “The Rhythm of the Saints” is a permanent member. I realize that his Grammy winning, 1986 release, “Graceland” is a masterpiece, and don’t get me wrong I do really like it, but “The Rhythm of the Saints” had me at hello.

With over 70 musicians contributing on the record, Simon continues an international flavor like on “Graceland” but instead concentrating on African roots he incorporates a Latin American and Brazilian tastes to it. For me, it has more of a cooler, flowing vibe to it than “Graceland;” think blues, greens and purples with “The Rhythm of the Saints” as opposed to Reds, Oranges and Yellow hues with “Graceland.” It also makes me feel the elements of water and earth; you guessed it, fire and air are what I associate for “Graceland.” Regardless of imagery, color, texture or groove, I just plain love “The Rhythm of the Saints.” Shout-outs to every track:

The Obvious Child
Can’t Run But
The Coast
Proof
Further to Fly
She Moves On
Born at the Right Time
The Cool, Cool River
Spirit Voices
The Rhythm of the Saints

There were also four bonus tracks that could be found on the 2004 reissue release. A special mention goes to Thelma, a tune found in those bonus songs. Let me tell you, I loves me some Thelma.

The first recipient of U.S. Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song was to Paul Simon. He has won 12 Grammys, A Kennedy Center Honor and is a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, twice. Even if I don’t listen to Simon as regular as others in my library, his music throughout his career has had a profound effect on me. This observation was further realized when my friend and I caught the Sting/Paul Simon tour earlier this year. It was a wonderful concert filled with great highlights and moving moments. Seeing a legend like Simon was an honor. Always having his music to go to is a gift from beyond. I will continue to treasure “The Rhythm of the Saints” and the rest of Paul Simon’s terrific art as long as I can hear.  Thank God we have ears!