365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 356 “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” Ray Conniff and the Ray Conniff Singers 1962

We Wish You a Merry Christmas

Adeste Fideles laeti triumphantes, Venite, venite in Bethlehem. Natum videte, Regem Angelorum; Venite adoremus, venite adoremus, venite adoremus Dominum!

One of the things that means the most to me this time of year is remembering Christmases past, especially those as a child. My early holidays were spent with my mother and my grandparents. Every year this album, along with a few other annual LPs, would come out and be played, more than once, I assure you, on the record player. It wasn’t Christmas without listening to “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” by Ray Conniff and His Singers. My family really liked this one. I continue the tradition by enjoying it every season. I mean, let’s be honest, this is one hell of a cheesy Christmas collection. Every song pretty much sounds the same; the same rhythms, similar keys and the repetitive style of each tune. Plus, of the half dozen tracks on the LP, four are medleys. For example, you could hear O Holy Night / We Three Kings Of Orient Are / Deck The Halls With Boughs Of Holly as one seven and a half minute song. Did I mention the cheese? But that’s Conniff, and Conniff at his best. He is the quintessential 1960s easy listening maestro. So, I embrace the overly happy singers and welcome this record each December. Through music like this and a few other holiday things I do, I can honor and stay connected to those loved ones that are no longer here. Oh how I cherish those memories.