365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.

#365AOTD 361 “Ella and Louis Again”* Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong 1957

Leave a comment

Ella and Louis Again

Only five days left in 2014. These last six days are being brought you by the number 7.

Savoy, gives happy feet a chance to dance.

Here we have a two for one special that is worth the price of ten. As I was starting to inventory the remaining days left in the year a few months back, I saw I wasn’t going to be able to do everyone I originally wanted. Well, you can’t leave these peeps off the itinerary; Yay, I can do both Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong together. Score. First, these two are both legends among legends. The impact of Louis Armstrong on music, specifically jazz in the United States is immeasurable. He has influenced everybody in jazz who has come after him. Let me say that again and make it very clear for you, when I say everybody, I mean EVERYBODY. This is not some over the top statement nor am I being melodramatic. Jazz starts with Armstrong. In some circles, he is considered the greatest trumpeter that has ever lived. I can hear your arguments now, but Satchmo is on the Mount Rushmore of cats who could blow, you can bet your money on that. And lest us not forget that he was a pretty fine singer as well. Combine this with his showmanship and his depth as a musician, and you get one of our most treasured artists. Speaking of treasures, Ella Fitzgerald is the diamonds in the pirate’s chest of jazz singers. I think it is also fair and just to say that Ella’s influence amongst jazz singers, both men and women, was and still is profound. Considered the “First Lady of Song” and the “Queen of Jazz,” no one was like Ella. Even if we put Billie at the number one jazz singer ranking, there is doubt that Ella’s scatting ability has never been remotely matched. Her phrasing and intonation are simply wonderful. ^ Now put Armstrong and Fitzgerald together and you have got pure gold.

Capitalizing on the success of Ella and Louis’ first Verve release together, “Ella and Louis,” “Ella and Louis Again” is a double album filled with solo efforts by both singers, duets and a fantastic quartet led by Oscar Peterson as the duo’s band. Armstrong also contribute his terrific trumpet playing on a few of the tracks. Featuring a healthy helping of classics from the Great American Songbook. Check out some of the whose who of standards that Ella and Louis present on this LP: Love is Here to Stay, Autumn in New York, I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm, Gee, Baby, Ain’t I Good to You, Let’s Do It, Let’s Fall in Love, Willow Weep for Me, Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off, Makin’ Whoopee, I Get a Kick Out of You, A Fine Romance and Stompin’ at the Savoy. Props to some of the great composers on “Ella and Louis Again:” George and Ira Gershwin, Cole Porter and Irving Berlin. There is nothing like listening to this old music; this album was a joyous, foot tappin’, sometimes mellow but smilin’ assortment of good song after good song. I always feel like I am listening to something a little extra special when I hear the likes of people like Fitzgerald and Armstrong, they just don’t make them like that any more.

*”Ella and Louis Again” personnel:
Louis Armstrong – vocals, and trumpet on tracks 5, 7, 9, 13, 17 and 19.
Ella Fitzgerald – vocals
Ray Brown – double bass
Herb Ellis – guitar
Oscar Peterson – piano
Louie Bellson – drums ^^

^http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ella_Fitzgerald

^^http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ella_and_Louis_Again

Leave a comment