365, Album of the Day 2014

One Year, 365 Different Albums.


Leave a comment

#365AOTD 363 “The Stranger” Billy Joel 1977

The Stranger

The number 7 is pleased to bring you day 3 of our 6 days left in 2014 countdown.

Brenda and Eddie would always know how to survive.

Considered Billy Joel’s best release, “The Stranger” is not only my favorite Joel disc, it’s one of my favs from anyone; it’s on my top 100. Rolling Stone Magazine has it ranked 70 on their 500 Greatest Album List. It is definitely worthy of its critical acclaim and accolades.

Nine songs grace “The Stranger,” and all are solid. Okay I must admit I’m not the biggest fan of the LP’s two major ballads, but She’s Always a Woman is indeed beautiful and Just the Way You Are garnered the ’78 Grammy for both Song and Record of the Year. For me, it’s everything else on this one that I love. I shall name the remaining 7, which seems more than appropriate considering the day’s sponsorship: Vienna, Only the Good Die Young, Scenes From an Italian Restaurant, Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song), Get it Right the First Time , Everybody Has a Dream and the title track. I think Joel’s songwriting skills shine both lyrically and musically with “The Stranger.” Plus, it’s just a good ol fashioned enjoyable listen.

With just a few days remaining in this year long project, the light at the end if the tunnel is bold and bright. Yipee.